Engines Orchestra | eO Parliamentary Jazz Award Nomination
single,single-post,postid-7947,single-format-standard,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,,,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-4.1.2,vc_responsive



eO Parliamentary Jazz Award Nomination

  |   Engines Orchestra   |   No comment

Thank you, thank you, thank you! We’ve just been nominated for the ‘Jazz Ensemble of the Year’ in the 2015 Parliamentary Jazz Awards! After our first year, this is incredibly exciting for us and we cannot thank you enough for supporting us with your votes. We’ve had a blast so far and are both honoured and humbled to be shortlisted alongside iconic big band Loose Tubes and the incredible Partisans – both of whom are 20 years our senior!


There are lots of individual eO members nominated too including vocalist/violinist Alice Zawadzki (Jazz Vocalist of the Year), trumpeter Laura Jurd (Jazz Instrumentalist of the Year) and Elliot Galvin’s Trio (Jazz Newcomer of the Year). Our studio MD for Lifecycles, Tim Garland’s brilliant album Songs to the North Sky, guest lecturer Simon Purcell and educational partner NYJO also get nominations!


Here’s the complete shortlist for this years awards – good luck!


Jazz Vocalist of the YearAlice Zawadzki, Georgia Mancio, Norma Winstone MBE and Zara McFarlane.

Jazz Instrumentalist of the Year: Jason Yarde, Laura Jurd and Phil Robson.

Jazz Album of the Year: Partisans Swamp, Julian Argüelles Circularity and Tim Garland Songs to the North Sky.

Jazz Ensemble of the Year: Engines Orchestra, Loose Tubes and Partisans.

Jazz Newcomer of the Year: Blue-Eyed Hawk, Elliot Galvin Trio and Peter Edwards.

Jazz Venue of the Year: Manchester Jazz Festival, Spice of Life and St Ives Jazz Club.

Jazz Media Award: Jazz on 3, BBC Radio 3, London Jazz News and The Jazz Breakfast.

 Jazz Education Award: Dr Tommy Smith, National Youth Jazz Orchestra and Simon Purcell.

Services to Jazz Award: Chris Hodgkins, Evan Parker and Mike Gordon. 



No Comments

Post A Comment